About RCWR

The RC-WR represents and advocates for Registrars and Collections Managers in the Western United States, including Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.

We promote high standards and best practices in our profession, through workshops, service initiatives, stipends, a quarterly newsletter and networking through meetings and conferences, including our Annual Business Luncheon held during the Western Museum Association’s Annual Meeting.


RC-WR was first organized in 1977 through the efforts of Pat Nauert, who initiated contacts and projects that brought Registrars in the western states together for the first time under the auspices of AAM’s Registrar’s Committee. Nauert also founded and ran RC-WR’s Registrars Report newsletter (now known as the Registrars Quarterly) until her exit from the field. As the organization was formalized, Charlotte A. Johnson, then Registrar at the Lowie Museum of Anthropology, become the first Chairperson, serving from November 1977 through the ratification of the bylaws and until an election was held in the Fall of 1979, when RC-WR was officially founded.

Today, RC-WR is the largest and most active regional Registrars’ committee in the United States.

Past Chairs

  • 2023-present: Melanie Deer
  • 2021-2023: Lindsay Palaima Hazen
  • 2019-2021: Katy Hess
  • 2018: Amber King
  • 2013-2017: Clare Haggarty
  • 2012-2013: Nicole Nathan
  • 2008-2011: Jacqueline Cabrera
  • 2008 (January-May): Kristen Schmidt
  • 2006-2008: Ted Greenberg
  • 2004-2005: Susan Dolan
  • 2002-2003: Carolyn Rissenen
  • 2000-2001: Cherie Summers
  • 1998-1999: Paulette Hennum
  • 1994-1997: Melissa Rosengard
  • 1992-1993: Sarah Kennington
  • 1990-1992: Lella F. Smith
  • 1988-1989: Faye Johnson
  • 1986-1987: Renee Montegomery
  • 1983-1985: Paula March
  • 1980-1983: Kittu Gates
  • 1979: Charlotte A. Johnson